Punk’d People

Let me visualise this for you. You extend your perfectly buffered and polished leg from a town car. The pop of camera flashes washes over you as you step onto a plush red carpet. You’re wearing a mohawk and a studded, statement frock. Yes, you’re there, you’ve made it, you’re at the Met

The Met Gala is the event of the season. Every year the finest of the fine parade up the steps to that fine aged institution for one of the most lavish parties of the year. The people in attendance are so chic that it almost physically hurts me. Seriously, pictures on Instagram literally made me weep.

This year has been no exception. Apart from Kimmy K’s bold choice of a high split floral frock with pregnant belly (looked alarmingly similar to a badly wrapped flower arrangement) everyone looked hyper stylish. Then again how wrong can you go with a punk themed event?

Studs? Excellent. Mohawks? Fabulous. Leather? Superb. Punk is about sticking up your middle finger in the air and waving it around. I’m sick of safe fashion that is perfectly matched and toned down. This was a fabulous explosion of everything wrong and it ended up so right.

My home girl Sasha Fierce was one of the highlights of the night. If Riccardo Tisci came up to me and told me he wanted to put me in a statuesque black frock with a giant flame-like motif running the entire length of the train I would probably die from happiness… and it wouldn’t even look good on me.

I am also a big supporter of the wearing of crowns at formal occassions. The bigger and more offensive the better. Throw in a sparkly frock and I’m there, no questions asked. Katy Perry and Dolce & Gabanna rocked it.

There’s a part of me that hopes when I arrive on campus tomorrow everyone will have done away with safe and staid mustard knits and will be wearing very similar ensembles to those of KP and Mrs. Carter. I personally feel like the addition of a chunky boot and a distressed jean would do wonders for my own look but I have to stop writing now so that I can go and find a huge studded crown to wear while I watch the online coverage in my pyjamas with a large tub of cookies and cream.

How punk is that!?

Image

ImageImage

 

Disclaimer: All photographs are from the Huffington Post

Leave a comment